2013 Grand National Entries

The 166th running of the world’s greatest chase, the John Smith’s Grand National, has attracted a high-class entry of 84, an increase of two on last year’s figure. With a prize fund of £975,000, the 2013 Grand National will be the most valuable jump race in Europe and among the richest in the world.

Second last year to the now retired Neptune Collonges, Sunnyhillboy could bid to go one better and the 2012 third and fourth, Seabass and Cappa Bleu, are also both entered again.

Cappa Bleu is one of eight entries trained in Wales, along with recent Welsh National second Teaforthree (Rebecca Curtis), Always Waining, who has won the last three runnings of the John Smith’s Topham Chase over the Grand National fences, Gullible Gordon and Mumbles Head (all with Peter Bowen) and 2011 Scottish Grand National winner Beshabar, Saint Are and Tartak (all with Tim Vaughan).

Champion trainer Paul Nicholls has four chances to gain a second John Smith’s Grand National this year, headed by Tidal Bay but is also represented by What A Friend, Harry The Viking as well as Join Together, who was second over the famous fences in the Betfred Becher Chase in December.

Jonjo O’Neill, who went so close with Sunnyhillboy last year has five entries in 2013. In addition to Sunnyhillboy, he has also entered the multiple Grade One scorer Albertas Run, Cheltenham Festival winner Alfie Sherrin, Lost Glory and Mister Hyde.

Ballabriggs, sixth in 2012, is one of five entries for Donald McCain this year along with Across The Bay, Cloudy Lane, who has run three times in the John Smith’s Grand National, Fabalu and Weird Al.

There are a total of 32 Irish-trained entries, with Ireland’s champion jump trainer Willie Mullins having seven hopefuls, more than any other handler. The Mullins septet includes Prince De Beauchene and On His Own, who was still travelling well in third when falling at Becher’s on the second circuit of last season’s John Smith’s Grand National.

Ted Walsh has two strong contenders this year, including last year’s third Seabass and Colbert Station, who entered the reckoning for the John Smith’s Grand National when taking a valuable handicap chase at Leopardstown over Christmas.

The last two winners of the Irish Grand National – Organisedconfusion (2011) and Lion Na Bearnai (2012) – are also engaged, while leading owner J P McManus has seven possibles spread across five trainers and there is one entry from France, experienced chaser Odysseas, who is trained by Yann Porzier.



ACROSS THE BAY 9 (IRE) Scotch Piper Synd Donald McCain P3-1120
ALBERTAS RUN 12 (IRE) Trevor Hemmings Jonjo O’Neill P12/123-
ALFIE SHERRIN 10 J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill 0513-30
ALWAYS WAINING 12 (IRE) PJ Douglas Peter Bowen 044001-
ANY CURRENCY 10 (IRE) Cash Is King Martin Keighley 3-614U4
AURORAS ENCORE 11 (IRE) D Pryde Sue Smith 2-U0P45
BACKSTAGE 11 (FR) MPR & Capranny Gordon Elliott P/5000/P-
BALLABRIGGS 12 (IRE) Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain 121/46-P
BALTHAZAR KING 9 (IRE) The Brushmakers Philip Hobbs P0F1-12
BECAUSEICOULDNTSEE 10 (IRE) Noel Glynn Noel Glynn 2F-63PP
BESHABAR 11 (IRE) Middleham P.R. Tim Vaughan 1/U121/5-
BIG FELLA THANKS 11 Crossed Fingers Prn Tom George 440/-U31
BOB LINGO 11 (IRE) J P McManus Tom Mullins 051130
BOSTONS ANGEL 9 (IRE) Elder Scouller Jessica Harrington P-06F22
CALGARY BAY 10 (IRE) Camilla Radford Mick Channon 5110-P4
CALL THE POLICE 10 (IRE) DD Racing Synd Willie Mullins 234-F21
CAPPA BLEU 11 (IRE) Angela Rucker Evan Williams P//1334-2
CHICAGO GREY 10 (IRE) John Earls Gordon Elliott 2B-0U63
CLOUDY LANE 13 Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain 40//2161-
COLBERT STATION 9 (IRE) J P McManus Ted Walsh 413-521
CROSS APPEAL 7 (IRE) John Corr Noel Meade 1P-4PP0
FABALU 11 (IRE) Tim Leslie Donald McCain 120-25F
FORPADYDEPLASTERER 11 (IRE) Goat Racing Synd’ Thomas Cooper 64-2P15
FRISCO DEPOT 9 Waley-Cohen Charlie Longsdon 21B-4FP
GULLIBLE GORDON 10 (IRE) Yeh Man PRN Peter Bowen 0/44-060
HARRY THE VIKING 8 Sir Alex Ferguson Paul Nicholls 112P-P0
IMPERIAL COMMANDER 12 (IRE) O.F.I.T.N N. Twiston-Davies 51U/1P/-2
JESSIES DREAM 10 (IRE) David Johnson Gordon Elliott 30/1122/-
JOIN TOGETHER 8 (IRE) I. Fogg & P. Barber Paul Nicholls 11P3-02
JONCOL 10 (IRE) Kay Browne Paul Nolan 20-3523
KATENKO 7 (FR) A Brooks Venetia Williams 4-F0211
LAMBRO 8 (IRE) Byerley T.R. Willie Mullins 01236-1
LION NA BEARNAI 11 (IRE) The Lock Synd’ Tom Gibney 10511-P
LITTLE JOSH 11 (IRE) Tony Bloom N Twiston-Davies 6P00-1F
LOST GLORY 8 (NZ) J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill 011611
MAGNANIMITY 9 (IRE) Gigginstown Stud Dessie Hughes PP-5220
MAJOR MALARKEY 10 (IRE) Baker, Dodd & Cooke N. Twiston-Davies 4P2P-26
MATUHI 10 Willsford Racing David Pipe 030U-06
MIDNIGHT CHASE 11 Lady Clarke Neil Mulholland 310-3P4
MISTER HYDE 8 (IRE) Bensaranat & McLuskey Jonjo O’Neill 04-1311
MORTIMERS CROSS 12 John Needham John Needham 1P-2215
MR MOONSHINE 9 (IRE) Sue Smith Sue Smith 0-23602
MUMBLES HEAD 12 (IRE) Karen Bowen Peter Bowen 1133FP
NINETIETH MINUTE 10 (IRE) Dermot Cox Tom Taaffe 1F-3F60
ODYSSEAS 10 (FR) Mrs Jean Porzier Yann Porzier 33F425
ON HIS OWN 9 (IRE) A&G Wylie Willie Mullins 4P1/B1F-
ORGANISEDCONFUSION 8 (IRE) Grace Dunlop Arthur Moore F5U-540
OSCAR TIME 12 (IRE) R. Waley-Cohen Martin Lynch 632/4-4U
OUTLAW PETE 9 (IRE) J P McManus John Halley 05r316
PANDORAMA 10 (IRE) R J Bagnall Noel Meade 11/P10/-0
PEARLYSTEPS 10 Glazeley PRN Henry Daly 30/F2PP-
PENTIFFIC 10 (NZ) P Sinn, P Lawrence Venetia Williams 0-00016
PLANET OF SOUND 11 Charles Lloyd-Baker Philip Hobbs 5/230-53
POKER DE SIVOLA 10 (FR) David Johnson Ferdy Murphy 6U1/-50
PRINCE DE BEAUCHENE 10 (FR) A&G Wylie Willie Mullins 351/51-1
PROBLEMA TIC 7 (FR) Jo Tracey David Pipe 1211-5F
QUEL ESPRIT 9 (FR) Red Barn Synd’ Willie Mullins F1113-0
QUINZ 9 (FR) Andrew Cohen Philip Hobbs 131P/PP-
QUISCOVER FONTAINE 9 (FR) J P McManus Willie Mullins 4010F-6
QUITO DE LA ROQUE 9 (FR) Gigginstown Stud Colm Murphy 13-3361
RARE BOB 11 (IRE) D A Synd’ Dessie Hughes 053B0-6
ROBERTO GOLDBACK 11 (IRE) Simon Munir Nicky Henderson 000-1U3
ROI DU MEE 8 (FR) Gigginstown Stud Gordon Elliott 511112
ROMANESCO 8 (FR) A. Flora & J.Bowles Gordon Elliott U1F102
SAINT ARE 7 (FR) David Fox Tim Vaughan 4U01-F4
SEABASS 10 (IRE) Gunners Synd’ Ted Walsh 1//11113-
SHAKERVILZ 10 (FR) Wicklow Bloodstock Willie Mullins 0-12136
SOLL 8 Derrick Mossop Jo Hughes 1/21B-00
SUMMERY JUSTICE 9 (IRE) Mrs H Brown Venetia Williams 1P/1/401-
SUNNYHILLBOY 10 (IRE) J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill P012-5P
SWING BILL 12 (FR) David Johnson David Pipe 00P-P14
TARQUINIUS 10 (FR) Mrs M Furlong Gordon Elliott 1P1142
TARTAK 10 (FR) Power Panels E.S. Tim Vaughan 50-6440
TATENEN 9 (FR) Stewart Family Richard Rowe 0/015U-6
TEAFORTHREE 9 (IRE) T437 Rebecca Curtis P11-062
THE PACKAGE 10 David Johnson David Pipe 5/5/4-14P
THE RAINBOW HUNTER 10 May We Never’ PRN Kim Bailey 04-311P
TIDAL BAY 12 (IRE) A & G Wylie Paul Nicholls 541-121
TOFINO BAY 10 (IRE) Gigginstown Stud Dessie Hughes 1-12141
TREACLE 12 (IRE) Bjorn Nielsen Tom Taaffe 51423F-
VIKING BLOND 8 (FR) Caroline Mould N Twiston-Davies FP-023P
WEIRD AL 10 (IRE) D Holden Donald McCain 13PF-4P
WHAT A FRIEND 10 G.Mason/A.Ferguson Paul Nicholls 4P/33F0-
WYCK HILL 9 (IRE) SAB Partnership David Bridgwater 11F2-11

Weights for the John Smith’s Grand National are framed by the British Horseracing Authority’s Head of Handicapping, Phil Smith, and will be revealed at the annual John Smith’s Grand National launch on Tuesday, February 12.

First scratchings’ deadline February 26, second scratchings’ deadline March 19. Five-day confirmation stage April 1, final declaration stage 10.00am, April 4. Maximum field size of 40, plus four reserves.

Form figures supplied by Weatherbys and are correct up to and including the racing of Monday, January 28. Since this list was posted many of the original entries have been withdraw, if you would like to see a full list of the horses remaining in the 2013 Grand National please click here.