2012 Grand National Entries

The entries for the 2012 John Smith’s Grand National have been announced and 82 horses are now in contention for the record prize money of £975,000. The 2012 Grand National takes place at Aintree on Saturday, April 14 and top of the list is Ballabriggs, the 2011 Grand National winner who is bidding for his second title in two years.

Champion trainer Willie Mullins heads up the Irish charge with 12 of the overall 31 entries from Ireland. Mullins, successful with Hedgehunter in the 2005 John Smith’s Grand National, has included Apt Approach, On His Own, Quel Esprit and The Midnight Club are among his dozen.

Other Irish-trained entries include the Shark Hanlon-trained Alfa Beat, the Arthur Moore-trained Organisedconfusion who won the 2011 Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse, and the Ted Walsh trained Seabass.

Somerset-based handler David Pipe won the 2008 John Smith’s Grand National with Comply Or Die and he is responsible for Junior who hopes to go one better than last year when he was cut before the final line-up.

Henrietta Knight has entered recent Sky Bet Chase winner Calgary Bay and the highly anticipated Shakalakaboomboom has been given the green light from Nicky Henderson’s stable after finishing behind Calgary bay on Saturday at Doncaster.

Alan King has thrown his hat in the ring with Hold On Julio and West End Rocker, the winner of the Betfred Becher Chase over the National fences at Aintree on December 3rd 2011.

Winner of the The John Smith’s Topham Chase in 2010 and 2011, Always Waining, is making the step up to the Grand National along with Le Beau Bai, winner of the Coral Welsh National at Chepstow on December 27.

Other Welsh National success stories, Giles Cross and Cappa Bleu and three time Aintree Grand National finisher State Of Play also hope to line up on the day.

With Oscar Time ruled out of the 2012 Grand National due to injury, the Waley-Cohens are hoping that Roulez Cool, owned, trained and bred by Robert Waley-Cohen and ridden by his son Sam, could carry the colours of last year’s runner-up.


ABBEYBRANEY (IRE) 11 Sue Johnson George Bewley 2/31P/-FP
ALWAYS RIGHT (IRE) 10 John Wade John Wade 2113-1P
ACCORDING TO PETE 11 Peter Nelson Malcolm Jefferson 22-3011
ALFA BEAT (IRE) 8 Irvin Naylor John Hanlon F-6041U
ALWAYS WAINING (IRE) 11 Mr & Mrs Douglas Peter Bowen 041-044
ANOTHER PALM (IRE) 7 M J M Racing Noel Meade 6-12026
ANY CURRENCY (IRE) 9 Cash Is King Martin Keighley 32-3P40
APT APPROACH (IRE) 9 Greenstar Syndicate Willie Mullins 2-FU111
ARBOR SUPREME (IRE) 10 J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill 0P2F-60
BACKSTAGE (FR) 10 MPR & Capranny Gordon Elliott P/5000-P
BALLABRIGGS (IRE) 11 Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain 11/1121-
BALLYVESEY (IRE) 10 R&P Fullagar Peter Bowen 12-20P3
BECAUSEICOULDNTSEE (IRE) 9 Noel Glynn Noel Glynn 42F-63F
BLACK APALACHI (IRE) 13 Gerard Burke Dessie Hughes 51U/022/-
BLAZING TEMPO (IRE) 8 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins 143111
BURTON PORT (IRE) 8 Trevor Hemmings Nicky Henderson 11121/2-
CALGARY BAY (IRE) 9 Camilla Radford Henrietta Knight 2F-0511
CAPPA BLEU (IRE) 10 Angela Rucker Evan Williams 3F2P/-13
CHICAGO GREY (IRE) 9 John Earls Gordon Elliott 10-U303
COOLDINE (IRE) 10 Jackie Mullins Willie Mullins 3/5P-230
CRESCENT ISLAND (IRE) 9 Sarah MacEchern N Twiston-Davies 5U-P20P
DEEP PURPLE 11 Paul Green Evan Williams 6/3U34-1
FAIR ALONG (GER) 10 Alan Peterson Philip Hobbs 4-U2634
GILES CROSS (IRE) 10 KCMS Partnership Victor Dartnall 3/P22-12
HECTOR’S CHOICE (FR) 8 Jean Potter Richard Lee 1P-1323
HELLO BUD (IRE) 14 Seamus Murphy N Twiston-Davies PP-5U65
HOLD ON JULIO (IRE) 8 Mr & Mrs F Bell Alan King PP//1-11
IN COMPLIANCE (IRE) 12 Dessie Hughes Dessie Hughes 431U0-P
JUNIOR 9 Middleham Park David Pipe 131/321-
KILLYGLEN (IRE) 10 David McCammon Stuart Crawford F-03034
KING FONTAINE (IRE) 9 Trevor Hemmings Malcolm Jefferson 50-PP0F
LE BEAU BAI (FR) 9 Glass Half Full Richard Lee P-0P011
LITTLE JOSH (IRE) 9 Tony Bloom N Twiston-Davies 6/1155-6
MASSINI’S MAGUIRE (IRE) 11 Alan Peterson David Pipe 235/3/1-P
MIDNIGHT CHASE 10 Lady Clarke Neil Mulholland 115-F31
MIDNIGHT HAZE 10 Kim Bailey Racing Kim Bailey 21/10P-1
MINELLA THEATRE (IRE) 9 Middleham Park Lawney Hill 0P3-5U2
MON MOME (FR) 12 Vida Bingham Venetia Williams 63F/-52P
NEPTUNE COLLONGES (FR) 11 John Hales Paul Nicholls 106-P42
NEPTUNE EQUESTER 9 Koo’s Racing Club Brian Ellison 30-3150
NICHE MARKET (IRE) 11 Graham Regan Paul Nicholls F505-02
NORTHERN ALLIANCE (IRE) 11 Irish Rover Syndicate Tony Martin 500423-
ON HIS OWN (IRE) 8 A&G Wylie Willie Mullins 14P1-B1
ORGANISEDCONFUSION (IRE) 7 Grace Dunlop Arthur Moore 12-133F
OUR ISLAND (IRE) 7 David Fox Tim Vaughan 0-42026
PEARLYSTEPS 9 Glazeley Partnership Henry Daly 2130-F2
PLANET OF SOUND 10 Charles Lloyd-Baker Philip Hobbs F01/35-2
POSTMASTER 9 Bill & Ben Partner’ Tim Vaughan FP-2661
PRINCE DE BEAUCHENE (FR) 9 A&G Wylie Willie Mullins U5351-5
PSYCHO (IRE) 11 Exors ‘Late C McClure Tony Martin 0F2224
QHILIMAR (FR) 8 Whites of Coventry & Stephen Dunn Charlie Longsdon R-120U3
QUANTITATIVEEASING (IRE) 7 J P McManus Nicky Henderson 112-021
QUEL ESPRIT (FR) 8 Red Barn Syndicate Willie Mullins 1FF-F11
QUISCOVER FONTAINE (FR) 8 J P McManus Willie Mullins 2F-4010
RARE BOB (IRE) 10 D A Syndicate Dessie Hughes PU-3450
ROBERTO GOLDBACK (IRE) 10 Seamus Dunne Dessie Hughes 1U3043
ROULEZ COOL 9 R Waley-Cohen R Waley-Cohen //U1/2B/1-
SADDLERS STORM (IRE) 10 Billy Moffett Tony Martin 0/660-P4
SCHINDLER’S GOLD (IRE) 10 R & L Newland Dr Richard Newland 11PPP0
SCOTSIRISH (IRE) 11 Double R Stables Syndicate Willie Mullins 363144
SEABASS (IRE) 9 Gunners Syndicate Ted Walsh F11/-111
SHAKALAKABOOMBOOM (IRE) 8 Liam Breslin Nicky Henderson 000-112
SHAKERVILZ (FR) 9 Jackie Mullins Willie Mullins 30/-003P
SMOKING ACES (IRE) 8 J P McManus Tom Taaffe 05-3410
SOME TARGET (IRE) 8 Captain Conflict Syndicate Willie Mullins PP24U6
STATE OF PLAY 12 W&A Rucker Evan Williams 144/P3/4-
STEWARTS HOUSE (IRE) 10 Double Trouble Partnership Tim Vaughan P0-5121
SUNNYHILLBOY (IRE) 9 J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill 03F-30P
SWING BILL (FR) 11 David Johnson David Pipe 2313P2
SYNCHRONISED (IRE) 9 J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill 13-P031
TARTAK (FR) 9 David Fox Tim Vaughan 04-5060
TATENEN (FR) 8 The Stewart Family Richard Rowe 3100-01
THARAWAAT (IRE) 7 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott 4-P1300
THE MIDNIGHT CLUB (IRE) 11 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins 3/216-B4
THE PACKAGE 9 David Johnson David Pipe 312U5/5-
TREACLE (IRE) 11 Bjorn Nielsen Tom Taaffe P/P-5142
UNCLE JUNIOR (IRE) 11 Mrs M McMahon Willie Mullins 140310
VIC VENTURI (IRE) 12 J P Dunne Dessie Hughes 0044B-2
VIKING BLOND (FR) 7 Caroline Mould N Twiston-Davies 00-143P
WEIRD AL (IRE) 9 D Holden Donald McCain 1/10P-13
WEST END ROCKER (IRE) 10 Winfield & Leadbeater Alan King 11PB-P1
WYMOTT (IRE) 8 Trevor Hemmings Donald McCain 1P-6P60

The 2012 John Smith’s Grand National will be the first renewal since entry requirements were tightened. Only horses aged seven or above can now compete and every runner must have been placed in the first four of a chase of three miles or more by March 20 and be rated 120 or above.

The weights for the 2012 John Smith’s Grand National, compiled especially for the race by British Horseracing Authority Head of Handicapping Phil Smith, are announced at the Grand National Launch in London on Tuesday, February 14.

The two scratchings deadlines are on February 28 and March 20 with a five-day confirmation stage on April 9. The final declaration stage is at 10am on April 12 with a provision for four reserves.