Welsh Grand National

The Welsh National is a Grade 3 National Hunt chase in Great Britain which is open to horses aged four years or older. It is the first Major ‘National’ of the season, scheduled to take place each year late December, and is one of the biggest races in the National Hunt calendar.

The race was first run in 1895, and it originally took place at Ely Racecourse in Cardiff. It remained at this venue until the closure of the course in 1939. After World War II it was transferred to Caerleon in 1948, and it was then moved to its present venue in 1949.

The race is now run at the Chepstow racecourse in Wales, runners must tackle the 3 miles and 5½ furlongs course, and jump twenty-two fences and is often contested by horses which also run in the Aintree Grand National. Many have won both races, including Silver Birch.

The 2010 Welsh Grand National was postponed until Saturday, January 8, 2011 due to extremely bad weather and as such there will be two ‘2011’ Welsh Grand National Winners!

The January 2011 Welsh Grand National Results:

1. Synchronised – AP McCoy 5/1
2. Giles Cross – Harry Skelton 12/1
3. I’moncloudnine – Dougie Costello 16/1
4. Ballyfitz – David England 8/1